top of page

Remove Donald John Trump



January 11, 2021

WHEREAS, on January 6, 2021, pro-Trump Republicans staged an attempted coup on our U.S. Capitol. This attack endangered the lives of elected officials, staff, aides, and the Capitol police, killing a Capitol police officer and injuring scores of other officers, and;

WHEREAS, justice will be served for this officer, the many officers who were injured, and America, and;

WHEREAS, this attack on the people’s House, Congress, and our democratic institution occurred because Donald John Trump and other Republicans perpetuated lies and refused to accept the 2020 election of Joe Biden. The seditious mob had been emboldened and incited by Donald John Trump, and;

WHEREAS, we the people vote for our leaders, and we reject terrorists and their Republican enablers who seek to seat Donald Trump as President by illegitimate means. We condemn these traitors who refused to certify the election, including three Republican U.S. House Representatives from Michigan, 18 Republican Michigan Representatives, and 10 Republican Michigan State Senators. These Republicans have endangered our nation and violated their oaths to protect the U.S. from enemies – foreign and domestic – by perpetuating lies and enabling the liar, Donald John Trump, and;

WHEREAS, on this dark day, democracy prevailed, and Congress was able to perform its constitutional duties and certify the election of President-elect Joseph Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris. The American people voted for a more hopeful and just tomorrow by giving Democrats a majority in the House and Senate, and;

WHEREAS, the scene was different when Black Lives Matter held a peaceful protest last June and militarized police were out in force. The scene was different when police arrested hundreds of disabled people at our Capitol for peacefully protesting the loss of their health care, and;

WHEREAS, we all know what was different, and;

WHEREAS, there is a direct line between white supremacy and Trump’s Republican Party. America needs reckoning with our long history of maintaining a caste system that keeps black and brown people, women, Muslims, disabled people, and others from being equal partners in our country, and;

WHEREAS, we are proud Democrats, but we are proud Americans first. We call on Republicans to walk away from white supremacy and join all Americans in standing up for our American ideal of an America for everyone. We must end discrimination, stop the killing of black people by police, and provide food, health, and economic security for all. It is America’s only way forward, and;

WHEREAS, we condemn this act of insurrection and all those who have called for, supported and participated, including US Senators, eight of whom carried out their objections to certifying election results, for their sedition; Ted Cruz, Josh Hawley, Cindy Hyde-Smith, Cynthia Lummis, John Neely Kennedy, Roger Marshall, Rick Scott and Tommy Tuberville, and;

WHEREAS, we condemn the 139 members, including three from Michigan – Tim Walberg, Lisa McClain, Jack Bergman, of the US House who voted against the certification of the Electoral College votes, for their sedition, and;

WHEREAS, and most importantly, we condemn the instigator of this sedition, Donald John Trump, and;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of the Northville Democratic Club calls for the immediate removal of the dangerous, unfit for office, unpatriotic, and un-American individual Donald John Trump, 45th President of the United States, through the 25th Amendment or impeachment. We call for Mr. Trump to be forever barred from holding any elected office in America, as he is unworthy of that responsibility or honor, and;

ADDITIONALLY, we call for the removal of all Senators and House Members who planned or participated in this sedition against the United States of America, including those who objected to certifying election results of the victory of President-elect Joe Biden.


Lisa DiRado, President; Roland Hwang, Vice President; Randa Cain, Treasurer; Dana Fortier, Secretary; Christian Alvarado, Trustee; Jason Blankenship, Trustee; Herb Helzer, Trustee; Janet Hess, Trustee; Luci Klinkhamer, Trustee; Susan Nichols, Trustee; Jerry Oljace, Trustee

The Northville Democratic Club, PO Box 221, Northville MI 48167



bottom of page